Getting started on IVAO

Welcome to the IVAO network. The goal of this page is to guide your thought your first experience as a pilot, as a controller, or both. Aeronautics, even at a simulated level, can be extremely complex for beginners. Read carefully these indications before starting, be patient and perseverant, and if you need help don't hesitate to contact our staff team.

Who we are

IVAO (International Virtual Aviation Organisation) is an international network founded in 1998 to provide an online platform for flight simulation enthusiasts to enjoy their hobby in a simulated real-world environment flying or providing Air Traffic Control services as real as it gets.

Our community already has tenth of thousands of active members from around the world. The France division counts almost 3000 active members.

Together with the simulated real-world environment, the IVAO network provides comprehensive training allowing our members to develop their skills as air traffic controller and pilot, organises several events and proposes a large variety of services, all available free of charges.

Rules and Regulations

Before registering and start using the IVAO network, you must read and accept the rules and regulations.

Do not overlook this step! It is quite usual that new members get sanctioned because of a bad knowledge of our rules.

In case you have any questions, please contact our staff at the address support@ivao.fr

Registration procedure

If you are more than 13 years old and you accept the rules and regulations above, you can either register as pilot, or as ATC (Air Traffic Controller), or both to take benefit of all our services.

Please note that it is mandatory to register using your real identity (first and last name, date of birth). Identity checks can be performed at any moment by our staff and the non-conformal accounts will be suspended.

After completing the registration procedure, you will receive a mail containing your credentials to connect to the network (IVAN password to connect to IvAp, IvAc and TeamSpeak 2) and to our web site (web password to connect to the web site and to the forum).

It is fundamental to use a valid e-mail address when registering in order to receive your credentials and allow our staff to contact you if needed.
Never communicate your passwords to anybody, IVAO Staff members will never ask you for this information.

First steps

As a beginner, you surely want to take benefit of our services. These two links will help you through your first sessions:

Let us give you only one advice: take the time to observe, read the documentation and ask to the more experienced members. This will make your first steps more pleasant.

Software

The services proposed within the IVAO network are accessible via several software:

  • IvAp: this software ensures the connection between the network and your flight simulator 
  • IvAc: based on a radar screen, this software is used to provide air traffic control services on the network
  • Team Speak 2: this software, which is not proper only to IVAO, is sued to ensure the vocal connection between pilots and ATC

You will find below a page containing all the links to download our software, together with the installation manuals:

Assistance

Aviation is a technical and demanding universe and the IVAO network can be as complex as real life. Therefore, getting started can be painful sometimes but you should not give up. Several tools are provided to you whenever you need help and advice to improve your skills:

  • The IVAO France forum: you are automatically registered once you become member of IVAO. The forum is the favourite communication tool between the IVAO members. You will find there a very large number of subjects that will answer most of your questions, provided some time spent using the "search" function.
  • The IVAO France web site: you have certainly noticed it, our web site contains tons of useful advices and information, from the documentation library to the FAQ section, the guides for the beginner pilots and ATC.
  • The France division staffs: the staff members are there to help, advice and answer your questions. You will find the description of their tasks in the "welcome" page of the different departments (ATC, Pilots, SO, etc.)
  • The IVAO France Team Speak 3: you can find our staffs and a lot of other IVAO members on the TS3 server hosted by the France division. This is one of the best ways to exchange and find the answers to all your questions
  • The IVAO France Facebook page: our division has a Facebook page that you can consult and to which you can write your questions.

Finally, please note that we provide to all our members a unique mail address that you can use to contact us and request assistance: support@ivao.fr

Débuter sur IVAO

Bienvenue sur le réseau IVAO. Le but de cette page est de vous guider dans vos premiers pas, que vous souhaitiez piloter, contrôler, ou les deux. Les débuts dans l'aéronautique, bien que virtuelle, peuvent être compliqués. Lisez bien ces indications avant de vous lancer, soyez patient et perseverant, et si vous avez besoin d'aide contactez notre équipe staff.

Qu'est ce qu'IVAO ?

IVAO (International Virtual Aviation Organisation) est un réseau international fondé en 1998 avec le but de fournir aux passionnés de simulation de vol un environnement multi-utilisateur en ligne aussi réaliste que possible (as real as it gets) incluant des services de contrôle aérien en temps réel.

Le réseau IVAO compte aujourd'hui plusieurs dizaines de milliers de membres  actifs venant des quatre coins de la planètes. La division France compte actuellement quelques 3000 membres actifs.  

Outre l'environnement multi-utilisateur, le réseau IVAO fournit une formation de qualité pour les personnes désireuses d'apprendre ou de se perfectionner dans le contrôle aérien ou le pilotage, des évènements variés et toute une gamme de services pour le plaisir de tous ses membres, et ceci, absolument gratuitement.

Le règlement 

Avant de vous inscrire et de commencer à utiliser le réseau IVAO, il est impératif de prendre connaissance de ses règles d'utilisation. 

Ne négligez pas cette étape ! Il est assez courant que des nouveaux membres se fassent sanctionner à cause d'une mauvaise connaissance des règles.

Si vous avez des questions, contactez notre staff à l'adresse support@ivao.fr.

Procédure d'inscription

Si vous avez plus de 13 ans et vous adhérez aux règles d'utilisation ci-dessus, vous pouvez vous inscrire en tant que pilote, ATC (contrôleur aérien) ou les deux pour profiter pleinement de tous nos services.

Notez tout de même qu'il est obligatoire de s'inscrire en utilisant sa vraie identité (nom, prénom et date de naissance). Des vérifications d'identité peuvent être effectuées à tout moment par nos staffs et les comptes non conformes seront suspendus.

A la suite de la procédure d'inscription, vous recevrez un mail contenant vos identifiants et mots de passe pour vous connecter au réseau (mot de passe IVAN pour vous connecter à IvAp, IvAc et TeamSpeak 2) et à son site web (mot de passe web pour vous connecter au site web et au forum).

Il est impératif de renseigner une adresse mail valide afin de recevoir ses identifiants et permettre au staff de vous contacter si nécessaire.

 Ne communiquez jamais vos mots de passe à une tierce personne, aucun département ou staff d'IVAO ne vous le demandera.

Bien débuter sur le réseau 

Pour vous permettre de profiter au mieux de nos services, voici deux liens qui vous permettrons de mieux appréhender vos débuts sur le réseau. 

Un seul conseil à vous donner : prenez le temps d'observer, de lire la documentation et de demander aux membres plus expérimentés. Cela rendra vos débuts plus agréables.

Les logiciels

Pour utiliser les services du réseau IVAO, plusieurs logiciels sont nécessaires :

  • IvAp : ce logiciel permet d'interfacer votre simulateur au réseau IVAO pour voler en ligne
  • IvAc : basé sur un écran radar, ce logiciel permet d'effectuer les tâches de contrôle aérien en ligne
  • Team Speak 2 : ce logiciel, qui n'est pas propre à IVAO, assure la connection vocale entre les pilotes et les ATC sur le réseau

Vous trouvez ci dessous une page détaillant tous les liens pour le téléchargement des logiciels, ainsi que les manuels d'installation et d'utilisation :

Assistance

L'aéronautique est un milieu exigeant et technique et le réseau IVAO est à son image. Par conséquent, les débuts peuvent être difficiles mais il ne faut surtout pas se décourager. Plusieurs moyens sont à votre disposition pour recevoir de l'aide et progresser :

  • Le forum d'IVAO France : l'inscription est automatique suite à votre inscription à IVAO et c'est le moyen de communication privilégié entre les membres d'IVAO. Un grand nombre des questions que vous serez amené à vous poser y trouveront une réponse, moyennant un peu de temps de recherche
  • Le site web d'IVAO France: vous l'aurez surement déjà constaté, notre site web est une mine d'informations, de la base documentaires à la rubrique FAQ, aux pages pour débuter en tant qu'ATC ou en tant que pilote
  • Les staff de la division France: les membres du staff sont à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions. Vous trouverez la description de leurs  tâches dans la page d'accueil des différents départements (ATC, Pilots, SO, etc...)
  • Le Team Speak 3 d'IVAO France: retrouvez nos staffs et plein d'autres membres d'IVAO dans le serveur TS3 de la division France, c'est le meilleur moyens pour échanger et trouver des réponses à vos questions.
  • Le Facebook d'IVAO France: notre division dispose d'une page Facebook à laquelle vous pouvez nous écrire pour toute demande d'information

Enfin, notez que nous avons mis à votre disposition une adresse mail unique à laquelle vous pouvez nous contacter pour toute demande d'assistance : support@ivao.fr