FIRs homepage

Welcome to the FIR page. Here you will discover who we are and what are our tasks within the France division.

Our division is organised around geographic areas called FIRs, inspired by Flight Information Regions, that constitute the airspace of metropolitan France. Each FIR drives and manages a group of terrains and their associated ATC units, for the benefit of pilots and controllers.

Metropolitan France métropolitaine is divided into FIRs:

In addition to these FIRs, the France Division is responsible for a number of overseas territories:

  • Antilles française, Guyane, Saint Pierre and Miquelon in the Atlantic Ocean
  • La Réunion, Mayotte and Iles éparses in the Indian Ocean

The territories of New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna are under responsibility of the Oceanic Region (XO) division. If you have any questions, please contact the division HQ in English at xo-hq@ivao.aero.

The territories of French Polynesia are under responsibility of the French Polynesia (PF) division. If you have any questions, please contact the division HQ at pf-hq@ivao.aero.


The organisation of the FIR activities ensured by the FIR chiefs (CH / ACH / CHA1) who are the animators and dynamisers of their FIR

In particular, FIR leaders are responsible for: 

  • welcome the members and direct them to different departments as needed
  • to animate regularly the various FIR terrains by controlling and flying
  • ensure the link between the members and the staff, in particular by the different communication channels (forum, Facebook page, TS3, etc.)
  • organise regular events in collaboration with the Events Department
  • develop and manage the tools devoted to ATC activities (IvAc, Manex, memos, LoA, sector files) in collaboration with the AO department
  • manage the FRA of the ATC units under the responsibility of their FIR in collaboration with the AO department
  • participate in the organisation of the ATC School activities in the terrains of the FIR (proposal of the airport open for training and of the number of trainees per airport) in collaboration with the Training department


FIR chiefs may also nominate platform or regional animators to assist them in the animation and promotion activities of the FIR. In the case of FIRs which do not have FIR chiefs or in Overseas Territories, animators may be appointed by the FR-HQ under its responsibility. In all cases, the recruitment and the activity of the animators are governed by the chart of the animator which follows.


Chart of the animator

Last update: 27/01/2018.

The main goal of an animator is to animate and dynamise the platform or the region that has been assigned to him. This animation can result in regular ATC activity, participation in one-off events, etc.

The animators are part of the FIR team, they work together with the FIR chiefs (CH / ACH / CHA1) to its good condition. The FIR chiefs, or the division managers (FR-HQ) for the FIRs not having a CH, name the animators and are guarantors of their actions. The position of animator is therefore available in the five FIRs of metropolitan France (LFBB-Bordeaux, LFEE-Reims, LFFF-Paris, LFMM-Marseille and LFRR-Brest), as well as in overseas territories. The animators of overseas territories are under the responsibility of the FR-HQ.

The animators have no assistants. In this respect, there is only one animator per platform/region.

Be careful, a facilitator is not a member of the IVAO staff. Nevertheless, his IVAO member profile indicates his status in the "Staff comments" section, completed by the division HQ. Not being a staff, an animator is not able to intervene as such to solve problems or to be responsible for specific projects.

Open animator positions may be published by the FIR chiefs or by the division managers. The names and e-mail addresses of the animators in office are indicated in the page of the corresponding FIRs in the IVAO France website and in the forum.

No animator is allowed to use call signs such as LFXX-CH (or -CHIEF, -DIR, -OPS, -ANIM) or anything equivalent to a IVAO staff position. It is customary to log in as LFXX_OBS (R&R §5.1.5). This also applies beyond IvAc, to forums, emails, social media, etc. Signatures such as "LFXX Animator" are allowed. The France division does not authorise the use of means of communication parallel to those provided by IVAO (Teamspeak 3 personal server, private forum, specific Facebook page, etc.) for activities related to the animation of a platform/region.

Conditions to be an animator

Animator members must be at least AS3 and 15 years of age (waivers are managed exclusively by the division managers). They are strongly encouraged to pass the ADC exam in the months following their appointment in order to be able to animate the platform/region in a more diversified way. Recruitment conditions specific to each FIR may be published on the page of the relevant FIR in the IVAO France website. For any questions relating to recruitment, members are invited to contact the relevant FIR directly by email (CH / ACH / CHA1) or divisional managers for FIRs without a CH (such as overseas territories).

Any platform/region animator should connect as ATC on a regular basis. Thus, during an event involving his FIR, he must be present (or succeed in being replaced) and help the organizers of the event in its realization. The transition to "inactive" status (more than 3 months without a pilot/ATC connection) entails the loss of the position of animator, as well as a breach of IVAO R&R. A shorter period of inactivity can also lead to a loss of position under decision of FIR or division managers.

Accueil FIR

Bienvenue dans la page d'accueil des FIR. Voilà qui nous sommes et quelles sont nos tâches au sein de la division.

L'organisation de notre division s'articule autour de secteurs géographiques appelés FIR, inspirés des Flight Information Regions, qui constituent l'espace aérien de la France métropolitaine. Chaque FIR anime et assure la gestion, pour les contrôleurs et pour les pilotes, d'un certain nombre de terrains et des positions ATC associées.

La France métropolitaine est divisée en cinq FIR :

A côté de ces FIR, la division France a la responsabilité d'un certain nombre de territoires d'outremer :

  • Antilles française, Guyane, Saint Pierre et Miquelon dans l'océan Atlantique
  • La Réunion, Mayotte et Iles éparses dans l'océan Indien

La responsabilité des territoires de Nouvelle Calédonie, Wallis et Futuna est assurée par la division Oceanic Region (XO). Pour toute question, il faut contacter les responsables de cette division en anglais à l'adresse xo-hq@ivao.aero.

La responsabilité des territoires de la Polynésie Française est assurée par la division Polynésie Française (PF). Pour toute question, il faut contacter les responsables de cette division à l'adresse pf-hq@ivao.aero.


L'organisation des activités dans les FIR est assurée par les chefs de FIR (CH/ACH/CHA1) qui sont les animateurs et dynamiseurs de leur FIR.

En particulier, les chefs de FIR ont la charge de : 

  • accueillir les membres et les orienter vers les différents départements en fonction des besoins
  • animer de manière régulière les différents terrains de la FIR par le contrôle et le pilotage
  • assurer le lien entre les membres et le staff, en particulier par les différents canaux de communication (forum, page Facebook, TS3, etc.)
  • organiser régulièrement des événements en collaboration avec le département Events
  • élaborer et gérer les outils d’aide au contrôle (fichiers secteur IvAc, Manex, fiches, LoA) en collaboration avec le département AO
  • gérer les FRA des unités ATC sous la responsabilité de leur FIR en collaboration avec le département AO
  • participer à l'organisation des activités de l'ATC School dans les terrains de la FIR (proposition des terrains et du nombre de formations par terrain) en collaboration avec le département Training


Les chefs de FIR peuvent également nommer des animateurs de plateforme ou régionaux pour les aider dans les activités d'animation et de promotion de la FIR. Lorsque les FIR ne disposent pas des chefs de FIR ou dans les territoires d'outremer, des animateurs peuvent être nommés par le FR-HQ sous sa responsabilité. Dans tous les cas, le recrutement et l'activité des animateurs sont régis par la charte de l'animateur qui suit.


Charte de l'animateur

Dernière mise à jour : 27/01/2018.

Le but premier d'un animateur est d'animer et dynamiser la plateforme ou la région qui lui aura été attribuée. Cette animation peut se traduire par un contrôle ATC régulier, par la participation à des événements ponctuels, etc. 

Les animateurs font partie de l'équipe de FIR, ils travaillent de concert avec les responsables de FIR (CH/ACH/CHA1) à son bon état. Les responsables de FIR, ou les responsables de la division (FR-HQ) pour les FIR n'ayant pas de CH, nomment les animateurs et sont garants de leurs actions. La position d'animateur est donc disponible dans les cinq FIR de la France métropolitaine (LFBB-Bordeaux, LFEE-Reims, LFFF-Paris, LFMM-Marseille et LFRR-Brest), ainsi que dans les territoires d'outremer. Les éventuels animateurs des territoires d'outremer sont sous la responsabilité du FR-HQ.

Les animateurs n'ont pas d'assistants. A cet égard, il n'y a qu'un seul animateur par plateforme/région.

Attention, un animateur n'est pas un membre du staff d'IVAO. Néanmoins, son profil membre IVAO indique son statut dans la partie "Staff comments", complété par les responsables de la division. N'étant pas staff, un animateur n'est pas en mesure d'intervenir en tant que tel pour résoudre des problèmes ou pour être responsable de projets en particulier.

Les positions d'animateurs ouvertes à candidature peuvent être publiées par les responsables de FIR ou par les responsables de la division. Le nom ainsi que l'adresse mail des animateurs en poste est indiqué dans la page des FIR correspondantes sur le site IVAO France et dans le forum.

Aucun animateur n'est autorisé à utiliser des indicatifs tels que LFXX-CH (ou -CHIEF, -DIR, -OPS, -ANIM) ou tout équivalant à une position staff IVAO. Il est d'usage de se connecter en tant que LFXX_OBS (R&R §5.1.5). Cela s'applique également au-delà d'IvAc, aux forums, emails, médias sociaux, etc. Les signatures telles que " Animateur de LFXX " sont autorisées. La division France n'autorise pas l'utilisation de moyens de communication parallèles à ceux fournis par IVAO (serveur Teamspeak 3 personnel, forum privé, page Facebook spécifique, etc.) pour les activités liées à l'animation d'une plateforme/région.

Conditions pour être animateur

Les membres animateurs doivent être au minimum AS3 et âgés de 15 ans (les dérogations sont gérées exclusivement par les responsables de division). Ils sont vivement incités à se présenter à l'examen ADC dans les mois qui suivent leur nomination afin de pouvoir animer d'une manière plus diversifiée la plateforme/région. Des conditions de recrutement propres à chaque FIR peuvent être publiées sur la page de la FIR concernée dans le site IVAO France. Pour toute question relative au recrutement, les membres sont invités à contacter directement les responsables de la FIR concernée par email (CH/ACH/CHA1) ou les responsables de la division pour les FIR n'ayant pas de CH (telles que les territoires d'outremer).

Tout animateur de plateforme/région doit contrôler de façon régulière. Ainsi, lors d'un événement impliquant sa FIR, il doit être présent (ou réussir à se faire remplacer) et aider les organisateurs de l'événement dans sa réalisation. Le passage en statut " inactif " (plus de 3 mois sans connexion pilote/ATC) entraine la perte du poste d'animateur, tout comme un manquement aux R&R IVAO. Une durée d'inactivité plus courte peut également être à l'origine d'une perte de poste sous décision des responsables de FIR ou de division.